Who is involved?

UC Santa Cruz is bringing a diverse range of people to the table. Creating a thoughtful plan requires broad input with insight into the issues and the opportunities. The committees and working groups will be posted here as they become available.

Long Range Development Planning (LRDP) committee

This committee will direct and oversee a physical plan that responds to the academic framework.

  • Keith Brant - Vice Chancellor - University Relations
  • George Brown - Faculty representative
  • Ceil Cirillo - community member
  • Elizabeth Cowell - University Librarian
  • Charlie Eadie - Alumni Association representative
  • Ami Gonzalez - Student Union Assembly representative
  • Karen Holl - Faculty representative
  • Maxine Jimenez - Student Union Assembly representative
  • Don Lane - community member
  • Sarah Latham - Co-Chair & Vice Chancellor - Business & Administrative Services (BAS)
  • Kimberly Lau - Co-Chair, Professor of Literature, and Vice Chair of the Academic Senate
  • Julisa Lopez - Amah Mutsun student representative
  • Sue Matthews - Associate Vice Chancellor - Colleges, Housing and Educational Services
  • Tyrus Miller - Vice Provost & Dean of Graduate Studies
  • Daniel Press - Faculty representative
  • Lucy Rojas - Interim Dean of Students
  • Susan Solt - Dean of Arts
  • Angela Steele - Staff Advisory Board
  • Michelle Whittingham - Associate Vice Chancellor of Enrollment Management
  • Alexander Wolf - Dean of Engineering

Executive Committee

This committee will provides oversight for process; reviewing recommendations coming from LRDP committee and ensuring fiscal accountability for expenditures related to planning process.


  • Co-chairs of LRDP Committee
  • Chair of Academic Senate
  • Chair of Student Union Association
  • Chair of Graduate Student Association
  • Vice Chancellor Planning and Budget
  • Associate Chancellor

Community Advisory Group

  • Santa Cruz City Council (2 Councilmembers)
  • Santa Cruz City Manager’s Office (1 staff)
  • Santa Cruz County Board of Supervisors (2 Supervisors)
  • Coalition for Limiting University Expansion (2 members)
  • Santa Cruz Chamber of Commerce
  • Santa Cruz Neighbors
  • Monterey Bay Economic Partnership
  • Association Monterey Bay Area Governments
  • Rural Bonny Doon Association
  • “Community Representatives” from the LRDP Planning Committee (3 members)
  • Santa Cruz County Workforce Development Board (invited)
  • United Way Community Assessment Project
  • City of Watsonville
  • City of Scotts Valley (invited)
  • Community Action Board
  • County Office of Education (invited)